ALLA Board of Directors

Under the constitution of the Australian Law Librarians' Association Ltd. (ALLA), the ALLA Board of Directors is comprised of at least eight members, holding office for one year from the date of appointment, with eligibility for yearly re-appointment for a further two years. Elections for office are generally held every September at the ALLA AGM.

ALLA Members are welcome to attend future meetings of the ALLA Board via teleconference. Contact the current ALLA President or Secretary for meeting timetable and access details. To contact the board please complete the contact us form

2020/2021 Board of Directors

President | Emma Joneshart

Emma Joneshart is currently a research librarian as well as trainer at Minter Ellison.

Emma has worked for over 10 years at MinterEllison. Previously she held similar positions at Freehills, the Taxation Institute of Australia, Deacons and government libraries.

Emma graduated with a Bachelor of Arts followed by a Graduate Diploma of Applied Science (Information) from the University of Technology, Sydney.

Emma's passion are her two furbabies, Cosmo and Maisie. She also enjoys the ballet and the movies.





Past President | Kate Freedman

Kate is the Law and Business Librarian at ACU Melbourne, who even though she now calls Melbourne home, heads back to Perth a few times a year.

She enjoys her job, although some people still think she reads all day. She is a keen knitter, Thermomixer, Instagrammer and a devoted aunt.

Kate has also previously been a part of the ALLA 2018 conference committee, ALIA NGAC committee, and the co-organiser of the Australian-New Zealand 23 Mobile Things program.


Vice President | Carole Hinchcliff


Carole is the Law School Librarian at the University of Melbourne. Before returning home to Melbourne in 2007, she was Associate Director, Moritz Law Library at The Ohio State University in Columbus Ohio, U.S.A.

Carole is Co-CPD Coordinator for ALLA-Vic, a member of the International Federatino of Law Librarias (IFLA) Law Library Committee, a former convener of the Australian & New Zealand Academic and College Law Librarians Group (ANZACLL), and a convener of the Joint Study Institute for law librarians, which was held at the University of Melbourne in 2013 and sponsored b AALL, ALLA, BIALL, CALL/ACBD and NZLLA.

Carole has an Arts/ Law degree from the University of Melbourne and an MA (Library and Information Studies) from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, U.S.A



Secretary | Karen Rowe-Nurse


Karen Rowe-Nurse has worked in law libraries over the past twenty years across law firms, tribunals and academic law libraries.

Career highlights include receiving an international conference scholarship to attend the British and Irish law Librarians’ Association 2011 conference, developing a new academic law library in Sydney for Notre Dame; convening the 2013 ALLA conference and joining the board of the Australian Law Librarians’ Association.



Treasurer | Phil Mullen

Phil Mullen has worked in Libraries for well over 25 years, where he has worked in Law and Newspaper Libraries.

For much of his time he has been a solo law librarian and this has shaped how he views the challenges faced by librarians. His chief concerns during his time as a librarian have been the development of training and marketing programs to deliver the best service to his library customers.

With Michael Marriott he received the Australian Law Librarian (ALL) Ted Glasson Award in 2012 for the following article, "Redesigning an Information Services Portal" 2012 ALL Vol 20(3) 119 -124.

With Cindy Martin he co-wrote "Talking about an eRevolution" for the NSW Law Society Journal November 2014.

He has been a member of ALLA for over 10 years; presently he holds the ALLA NSW. He is a past convenor of the Sterling Group (Sydney Law Firm Librarian Group). At the moment he is the Australian Library & Research Services Manager for K&L Gates. He has a BA Dip Lib (UNSW); B Leg S (Macq); Dip KM (UTS).



Board Member & CPD Coordinator | Caroline Knaggs

Caroline Knaggs joined the ALLA Board in 2017 and is passionate about ongoing professional education and assisting others to develop and enhance their skills and knowledge.

Caroline has worked in Libraries for many years, from government to corporate and then to law libraries. Caroline has worked primarily in forward-facing client oriented roles, but also ranging to a position called Tax Database Administrator (fun!)

Caroline is currently Subject Librarian in the Law Library at Monash University, a position held for ten years. Caroline teaches legal research to undergraduate and postgraduate Law students across a wide range of units.



Board Member & Vendor Relations Coordinator | Monika Zygmuntowicz

Monika Zygmuntowicz is the Vendor & Subscriptions Manager (Australia/Asia) at Herbert Smith Freehills. Monika has worked in corporate law firm libraries for almost 20 years, after parlaying her (now abandoned) law degree into law librarianship.

During her career, Monika has served as a committee member for ALLG (Vic), was instrumental in developing and then delivering Finding the Law Online, and was on the organising committee for the inaugural Australian and New Zealand Law Librarians Conference.



Board Member | Krista Lapointe

Krista is a research librarian at Ashurst in Melbourne where she's been since 2016. Before that, Krista worked as an Intranet and Content librarian at Minter Ellison for 5 years.

Krista graduated with a Masters in Information Management from RMIT. She also obtained a Master in Public History (Monash) degree and BA Hons (History) from Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada.

Originally from Canada, Krista has called Melbourne home since 2014.

 KL Photo.png



Board Member | Michael Gavan


Michael Gavan is Know-How Team Leader and Research Librarian at Minter Ellison, where he provides legal research training and research support to the Partnership.

Michael also delivers research training to the wider legal profession through seminars provided by MinterEllison to clients, the Leo Cussen Centre for Law and LegalWise Seminars, as well as to law librarians, through the ALLA 'Finding the Law Online' (FLO) program.

Michael has been an ALLA / ALLG member since 1999 and joined the ALLA board as treasurer in 2015. He has a LLB, M.Ed, B.Ed, Grad Dip Lib, BA, and Dip Gen Studs.


 Michael Gavan